The White Bikini

DSC_1867I keep an imaginary list in my head of all the clothing items that I dread shopping for (bra’s and jeans spring to mind), but I think bikini shopping should also have a special place in hell. Trying to find a bikini top that fits properly (never mind suits my budget!) is nearly impossible. The truth is that if you don’t fit into the first three letters of the alphabet, you’re gonna have a hard time!

On the rare occasions that bikini manufacturers actually “get” it and create bikini tops according to cup and torso sizes, they often make one of the following two mistakes: either they only make A, B and C-cup sizes or they create a push-up bikini top. If I’d wanted to look like I’m about to explode, I’d have just gone one size too small!

Apologies for the rant, but if you happen to have a similar problem I think I found something that might work for you as well! This tube top isn’t something I’d usually try but I was getting desperate, thinking it couldn’t look worse than some of the other items I’d tried. The padded sweetheart shape is flattering and covers enough so there is no risk of #freeingthenipple (a movement I do not support!). The frill keeps it from looking too frumpy by adding a dose of cute. It is comfortable, stays in place and doesn’t require me being strapped in.DSC_1866

Did I mention that it is white? What!? I need at least one thing to be paler than me on the beach! This was a total steal from Jet stores, but similar styles can be found at Woolworths.

Now I finally have a bikini I can swim in without having to do tripple checks before leaving the water. Summer here I come!

Leave a comment